

#### **KENTUCKY REGISTRY OF ELECTION FINANCE**

Thomas P. O'Brien, III, Chairman Adrian M. Mendiondo, Vice-Chair Richard Clayton Larkin, Member H. David Wallace, Member J. Bissell Roberts, Member Laura Marie Bennett, Member Jessica A. Burke, Member

140 Walnut Street Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-3240 Phone: (502) 573-2226 Fax: (502) 573-5622 www.kref.ky.gov John R. Steffen Executive Director

Leslie M. Saunders General Counsel

March 31, 2022

To the People of the Commonwealth of Kentucky Chairman and Members of the Registry of Election Finance

As Auditors for the Registry of Election Finance, we transmit our audit report of the Jefferson County Democratic Executive Committee income tax check-off funds for the period beginning December 4, 2015, and ending December 31, 2021. This report contains our findings related to the committee's compliance with the provisions of Kentucky Revised Statutes Chapter 121, Campaign Finance Regulation.

Respectfully submitted,

David Simpson

David C. Simpson Audit Manager

Jack Scott Lawless

Jack S. Lawless, CPA Auditor

Enclosures

cc: Virginia Woodward, Chairperson Russell Lloyd, Former Chairperson Allison Amon, Former Chairperson Bill Ryan, Former Chairperson Daniel Quinn, Treasurer Brian Caudill, Former Treasurer Neville Blakemore, Former Treasurer Charlie Horton, Former Treasurer



## JEFFERSON COUNTY DEMOCRATIC EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE INCOME TAX CHECK-OFF FUNDS AUDIT REPORT AND STATEMENT OF RECEIPTS AND EXPENDITURES FOR THE PERIOD DECEMBER 4, 2015, THROUGH DECEMBER 31, 2021

## INTRODUCTION

The Jefferson County Democratic Executive Committee ("Committee"), an executive committee of a political party as defined by KRS 121.015(3)(e), was organized to engage in activities to support candidates of the Democratic Party. Pursuant to KRS 141.071 and KRS 141.072, individual taxpayers of Kentucky may designate a portion of their state income tax liability to a political party that the Kentucky State Treasurer must forward to the Committee. The Committee's accounting, reporting and use of the Income Tax Check-off ("ITC") funds is governed by KRS 121.230.

As provided by KRS 121.230(5), the Kentucky Registry of Election Finance ("Registry") performed an audit of the Committee's receipt and use of ITC funds for the period beginning December 4, 2015, and ending December 31, 2021. This report summarizes the Registry's audit.

The names of the Committee's Chairpersons and Treasurers who served during the audit period are listed below.

Chairperson:	
Virginia Woodward	2/2020 - Present
J. Russell Lloyd	5/2016 - 2/2020
Allison Amon	12/2015 - 5/2016
Bill Ryan	5/2015 - 12/2015
Treasurer	
Daniel Quinn	1/2021 - Present
Brian Caudill	1/2017 - 1/2021
Neville Blakemore	4/2016 - 1/2017
Charlie Horton	5/2015 - 4/2016

#### SCOPE

The scope of the audit was limited to evaluating the Committee's compliance with the provisions of KRS 121.230. Procedures performed during the audit included, but were not limited to:

- accounting for each ITC check received from the Kentucky State Treasurer;
- review of documents supporting the use of ITC funds; and
- comparing records to reports filed with the Registry.

# **SUMMARY OF FINDINGS**

The Committee has complied, in all material respects, with the provisions of KRS 121.230.

## STATEMENT OF RECEIPTS AND EXPENDITURES

ITC Funds Deposited	\$37,147.50
Less: ITC Funds Disbursed	(44,627.68)
Net Increase/(Decrease) to ITC Account	\$ (7,480.18)
ITC Funds Receivable from Department of Reven	ue
as of December 31, 2021	\$ 6,724.00