Photo by Alvin Mahmudov / Unsplash

47 Repubs voted with the Dems in support of marriage equality – but ours weren’t among them.

Forward Kentucky
Forward Kentucky

On Tuesday, the U.S. House passed a bill to protect marriage equality. The bill, the “Respect for Marriage Act,” was brought forward in response to Justice Clarence Thomas indicating that the Supreme Court should reconsider its rulings that legalized gay sex and gay marriage.

The bill passed the House 267-157, with 47 Republicans joining all the Democrats to approve the bill. The five Republican representatives from Kentucky were not among them; instead, they all voted against the bill.

Quelle surprise.

It should be noted that the 47 Repubs who did vote to protect marriage equality were not all from blue or even purple states. Among those Republicans voting for the bill were Liz Cheney of Wyoming, Blake Moore and Burgess Owens of Utah, and Mike Simpson of Idaho.

In contrast, many of the Republicans voting No are from the South and near-South, including the Kentucky Five.

(For more on which Republicans voted Yea, here is the list. And for a map of the vote across the country, go to this Twitter post.)


Print Friendly and PDF

Forward Kentucky Twitter

The editorial board of Forward Kentucky. Articles under this author name have been written, edited, and approved by a number of the contributors on this site, as well as the publisher.