Here’s the electeds who voted to put homeless people in jail Skip to content

Here’s the electeds who voted to put homeless people in jail

“I know – let’s solve homelessness by making it a crime!” If that sounds stupid to you, read on.

1 min read

This year’s winner of the “How Bad a Bill Can We Write” award is House Bill 5, supposedly known as the “Safer Kentucky Act,” but more accurately known as the “Incarcerate Kentucky Bill.”

There are many, many things wrong with the bill, but one feature that is both mean-spirited and hilarious (an interesting combination) is that of making homelessness a crime. Specifically, if you are homeless and thus living on the street, you can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a fine of $250 and possible jail time of up to 90 days.

I mean, what could go wrong? Homeless people are just rolling in money, right? What’s a $250 fine to them? And our jails have plenty of room, so putting all these homeless people in jail will not be any sort of financial or staffing burden.


So, in their infinite wisdom (not), 74 members of the Kentucky House — 73 Republicans and 1 Democrat — voted to send homeless people to jail. Here are their names.

Baker, Shane
Banta, Kim
Bauman, Jared
Bentley, Danny
Blanton, John
Bowling, Adam
Branscum, Josh
Bratcher, Kevin
Bratcher, Steve
Bray, Josh
Bridges, Randy
Callaway, Emily
Calloway, Josh
Clines, Mike
Decker, Jennifer
Dietz, Stephanie
Dixon, Jonathan
Dossett, Myron
Dotson, Ryan
Duvall, Robert
Elliott, Daniel
Fister, Daniel
Flannery, Patrick
Fleming, Ken
Frazier Gordon, Deanna
Freeland, Chris
Fugate, Chris
Hale, David
Hart, Mark
Heath, Richard
Heavrin, Samara
Hodgson, John
Huff, Thomas
Imes, Mary Beth
Jackson, Kevin
Johnson, DJ
Justice, Jacob
King, Kim
Koch, Matthew
Lawrence, William
Lewis, Derek
Lewis, Scott
Lockett, Matt
Massaroni, Candy
McCool, Bobby
McPherson, Shawn
Meade, David
Meredith, Michael
Miles, Suzanne
Moser, Kimberly Poore
Neighbors, Amy
Nemes, Jason
Osborne, David W.
Petrie, Jason
Pollock, Michael Sarge
Pratt, Phillip
Proctor, Marianne
Rawlings, Steve
Raymer, Rebecca
Riley, Steve
Rudy, Steven
Sharp, Scott
Smith, Tom
Tackett Laferty, Ashley
Tate, Nancy
Thomas, Walker
Timoney, Killian
Tipton, James
Truett, Timmy
Upchurch, Ken
Wesley, Bill
White, Richard
Williams, Wade
Wilson, Nick
Witten, Susan

If that vote seems completely idiotic to you, remember it this fall when they run for re-election.


Print Friendly and PDF

Bruce Maples

Bruce Maples has been involved in politics and activism since 2004, when he became active in the Kerry Kentucky movement. (Read the rest of his bio on the Bruce Maples Bio page in the bottom nav bar.)

Twitter Facebook Website Louisville, KY



Voting rights at risk after Supreme Court makes it harder to challenge racial gerrymandering

Voting rights at risk after Supreme Court makes it harder to challenge racial gerrymandering

Two recent Supreme Court rulings on congressional redistricting will have starkly different consequences for Black voters in the 2024 election. One ruling boosted Black voting power in Louisiana, while another decision upheld a South Carolina congressional map that the lower court had declared “illegal racial gerrymandering.” Despite these seemingly contradictory

Members Public
Kentucky’s GOP is NOT the party of “fiscal responsibility”

Kentucky’s GOP is NOT the party of “fiscal responsibility”

Kimberly and Dr. Clardy share the breaking Kentucky political news of the weak, including a couple of stories that expose the Kentucky GOP as having zero fiscal responsibility, then we have a great interview for you: Molly Gene Crain, the democratic candidate for Kentucky’s 27th Senate District.

Members Public