All results from Tuesday’s primary Skip to content

All results from Tuesday’s primary

Here’s a list of all the results from Kentucky’s 2024 primary election that were reported on the Board of Elections site. These include federal, state legislative, and some judges and county attorneys.

4 min read

Here’s a list of all the results from Kentucky’s 2024 primary election that were reported on the Board of Elections site. These include federal, state legislative, and some judges and county attorneys.


  • The list works much better in light mode than dark.
  • If the race is a one-party race, so that the primary determines the overall winner, it’s marked as primary only.
  • If the winner of the primary still has to face an opponent from the other party in the fall, it’s marked as on to general.
  • For those marked “on to general,” the opponent in the fall is listed.
  • If the incumbent is running in the primary, their name is in bold.
  • If the incumbent does not have a primary, they are listed with “inc” by their name in the race header.
  • And, if the incumbent is not running at all, the race is marked as open seat.
  • Finally, if you want some really in-depth reporting on the Liberty-vs-establishment subplot, check this article from Joe Sonka. As always, Joe does solid work.


  • As expected, Trump won the Repub primary with 85% of the vote, with Haley getting 6% and “Uncommitted” getting 4%.
  • Biden won the Dem primary with 71% of the vote, with “Uncommitted” getting 18%.
  • Hank Linderman won the right to challenge Brett Guthrie in the 2nd Congressional District.
  • Morgan McGarvey won the Dem nomination in the 3rd with 84% of the vote. His opponent in the fall will be Mike Craven.
  • Thomas Massie and Hal Rogers both easily won their primaries in the 4th and 5th districts.
  • The Dem nomination in the 6th Congressional is very close, with Randy Cravens in the lead at 26%, Todd Kelly at 25%, and Shauna Rudd at 24%. The winner takes on Andy Barr in the fall.

State Legislative

Last Name First Name Winner Notes Party
House 2 (primary only)
Heath Richard Repub
Holloway Kimberly Repub
House 10 (on to general - John Whipple
Calloway Josh Repub
Cantwell Julie Repub
House 19 (primary only)
Meredith Michael Repub
Rock Kelcey Liberty Repub
House 24 (on to general - open seat - Johnny Pennington)
Bivens Ryan Repub
Waggoner Asa Repub
House 29 (on to general - open seat)
Allison Wyatt Repub
Lewis Chris Repub
Peden Debbie Repub
Findley Timothy Dem
Pfaadt Matthew Dem
Santiago Ricky Dem
House 30 (primary only)
Grossberg Daniel Dem
Subedi Mitra Dem
House 31 (on to general - inc Susan Witten)
Davis Colleen Dem
Marshall Carma Dem
House 36 (on to general - inc John Hodgson)
McDowell Colin 50% Dem
Zorn William 50% Dem
House 40 (primary only)
Kulkarni Nima Disqualified; appealing Dem
Zeitz William Dem
House 41 (on to general - open seat - Sara Cottrell)
Adams Rick Dem
Marzian Mary Lou Dem
House 42 (primary only - open seat)
Musselwhite Jonathan Dem
Walker Jack Dem
Watkins Joshua Dem
House 44 (primary only)
Chester-Burton Beverly Dem
Cockrell Daniel Dem
Waldon Shreeta Dem
House 45 (on to general - Adam Moore)
Jefferson Thomas Liberty Repub
Timoney Killian Moderate Repub
House 47 (on to general - Robb Adams)
Gilkison Mark Backed by establishment PACs Repub
Rabourn Felicia Liberty Repub
House 48 (on to general - inc Ken Fleming)
Farrow Kate Dem
Wesslund Debbie Dem
House 49 (primary only)
Harned William Repub
Huff Thomas Repub
House 50 (primary only)
Massaroni Candy Liberty Repub
Stone Andy Repub
House 56 (on to general - inc Daniel Fister)
Bingham Chantel Dem
Branscum Dencia Dem
House 57 (on to general - open seat - Kyle Thompson)
Hancock Erika Dem
Powe Kristie Dem
House 60 (on to general - Deborah Flowers)
Pavese Christopher Repub
Proctor Marianne Liberty Repub
House 61 (primary only)
Lykins Jarrod Repub
Maddox Savannah Liberty Repub
House 62 (on to general - open seat - Kevin Kidwell)
Hampton Tony Repub
Parker Bill Repub
House 64 (on to general - Heather Crabbe)
Campbell Karen Repub
Moser Kimberly Support from House GOP caucus Repub
House 66 (on to general - open seat - Peggy Nienaber)
Massey Ed Lost seat in '22 Repub
Roberts T.J. Liberty Repub
House 67 (on to general - open seat - Matt Lehman)
Hatton Terry Repub
Ormes Brian Repub
House 69 (on to general - Wilanne Stangel)
Brown Diane Repub
Doan Steven Liberty Repub
House 76 (primary only)
Buckman Joshua Dem
Donworth Anne Dem
Palumbo James Dem
House 77 (on to general - Jason Griffith)
Brown George Dem
Whitley Daniel Dem
House 86 (primary only)
Smith Tom Repub
Taylor Billy Repub
House 89 (primary only)
Holland Idalia Repub
Truett Timmy Repub
House 91 (primary only)
Billings Darrell Repub
Wesley Billy Repub
House 93 (primary only)
Camuel Adrielle Dem
Ritter Sarah Dem
House 95 (on to general - inc Ashley Laferty)
Pennington David Repub
Spencer Brandon Repub
House 98 (on to general - open seat - Aaron Thompson)
Assar Shawn Dem
Reneau James Dem
Virgin Joe Dem
Womack Tammie Dem
Senate 1 (primary only)
Bechler Lynn Repub
Howell Jason Repub
Senate 5 (on to general - Jamie Skudlarek)
Ballinger Thomas Repub
Meredith Stephen Repub
Senate 7 (on to general - Rhonda Davis)
Gallrein Ed Support from House leadership Repub
Reed Aaron Liberty Repub
Southworth Adrienne Libertarian and sorta Liberty Repub
Senate 11 (primary only)
Froelicher Duane Repub
Rawlings Steve Repub
Senate 17 (on to general - Kiana Fields)
Jaddock Julia Repub
Nunn Matt Repub
Senate 29 (on to general - David Suhr)
Turner Johnnie Repub
Thompson Randy Repub
Gilley Shawn Repub
Senate 33 (primary only)
Churchill Michael Dem
Neal Gerald Dem
Scott Attica Dem

Judges and Commonwealth’s Attorneys

District Judge, 2nd Judicial District

  • Jenny Hines ✅
  • James Mills
  • Craig Newbern
  • Scott Marcum

CA 2nd Circuit

  • Donna Dixon ✅
  • Eddie Jones

CA 14th Circuit

  • Kelli Kearney ✅
  • Sharon Johnson
  • Jack Eardley

CA 20th Circuit

  • Rhese McKenzie ✅
  • Tony Breeze
  • Joseph Merkel

CA 41st Circuit

  • Haley Fields ✅
  • Gary Gregory

CA 44th Circuit

  • Mike Taylor ✅
  • Lisa Fugate

CA 49th Circuit

  • Mike Lindsey ✅
  • Corey Morgan

CA 50th Circuit

  • Justin Johnson ✅
  • Sarah Bryant

CA 53rd Circuit

  • Hart Megibben ✅
  • David Bullock

CA 55th District

  • Amanda Troutman ✅
  • Nathan Batey

CA 57th District

  • Matthew Leveridge ✅
  • Lee Whittenburg


Print Friendly and PDF

Bruce Maples

Bruce Maples has been involved in politics and activism since 2004, when he became active in the Kerry Kentucky movement. (Read the rest of his bio on the Bruce Maples Bio page in the bottom nav bar.)

Twitter Facebook Website Louisville, KY